09

Thursday
09 December 2021

1:00-2:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

2:00-3:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

GLC Opening Ceremony live from the University of Oxford

Welcome remarks from
Denis Mizne (Lemann Foundation) and
Andrew Serazin (DPhil, President of Templeton World Charity Foundation)
High-level panel discussion, featuring

Prof. Ngaire Woods
Outlook on GLC week

Live from the Exeter College, University of Oxford

Mizne_Transparent_2.png
Woods_Transparent.png
 

2:00-3:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

3:00-4:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Connecting the Global GLC Community

Get a virtual coffee with GLC Members from around the world.

3:00-4:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

4:00-5:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Senior Advisor Dialogue: The SDG Agenda

Where do we stand on achieving SDGs 3, 4, 5 and 13 and how can we tackle
the biggest gaps between aspiration and reality?
Meet your first Senior Advisor in a thought-provoking dialogue.

Senior Advisors:

Prof. Fernando Reimers (Harvard University),
Prof. Johannes Jütting (PARIS21 / OECD),
Prof. Rolf Wüstenhagen (University of St.Gallen),
Prof. Ilona Kickbusch (Graduate Institute of International and
Development Studies)

Reimers_Transparent.png
Kickbusch_Transparent.png

4:00-5:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

5:00-6:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Design Thinking Session:
Defining Your Challenge

GLC Design Thinking Sessions will help you to develop an SDG impact project.
This session will introduce tools to move from a broad SDG towards
defining a specific problem to address through your project.


Meike Kocholl (Resilyou, University of St.Gallen)

Kocholl_Transparent_5.png

10

Friday
10 December 2021

 

12:00-1:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

1:00-2:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

How GLC Works: Q&A with the Organisers (Optional)

Talk to the GLC Organisers for actionable recommendations on how to work on your SDG project as a group. Ask us any questions you may have at this point.

1:00-3:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

2:00-4:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Design Thinking Session: Ideating Solutions & Developing Your Project

GLC Design Thinking Sessions will help you to develop an SDG impact project. This session will introduce processes for idea generation and project development, putting people, planet, and purpose at the center.

Meike Kocholl (Resilyou, University of St.Gallen)

3:00-4:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

4:00-5:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

The Power of Purpose: Responsible Leadership Workshop with the Oxford Character Project (Part 1)

Based on research at the University of Oxford, this session will focus on questions that form the core of responsible leadership. We will explore how you can develop a deep sense of purpose that drives and directs your actions.

Dr Edward Brooks (The Oxford Character Project)

4:00-5:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

5:00-6:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

The Power of Purpose in Business:
Global Fireside Chat

Touching upon themes from the previous session, GLC Members will engage in conversation with leaders from the business world, to explore purposeful careers in the private sector.

Dr Edward Brooks (The Oxford Character Project),
Maggie Schear (Managing Director, BCG BrightHouse),
Kalm Paul-Christian (Senior Associate, NatWest Markets)

11 & 12

Weekend
11 & 12 December 2021

Self-managed Group Work
We advise you to coordinate with your group and use some of this time to develop your project

 

13

Monday
13 December 2021

 

1:00-2:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

2:00-3:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Finishing Your Project: Q&A with the Organisers (Optional)

If you have any questions at this point regarding your project, feel free to consult the GLC Organisers for actionable recommendations on how to develop your work further.

2:00-3:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

3:00-4:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Senior Advisor Dialogue: From Ideas to Action

In this session, GLC Members will present their group project ideas and receive feedback from world-leading experts in an exclusive dialogue.

Simona Scarpaleggia (EDGE Strategy),
Anna Penido (Lemann Center for Leadership and Education Equity),
Peter Drobac (Director of the Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship,
University of Oxford) and

Sophie Lambin (Kite Insights)

Scaepaleggia_Transparent.png
Penido_Transparent.png

3:00-4:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

4:00-5:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

The Power of Purpose: Responsible Leadership Workshop with the Oxford Character Project (Part 2)

Based on research at the University of Oxford, this session will focus on questions that form the core of resonsible leadership. We will explore how you can develop a deep sense of purpose that drives and directs your actions.

Dr Katy Granville-Chapman and Emmie Bidston (The Oxford Character Project / Global Social Leaders)

4:00-5:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

5:00-6:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

The Power of Purpose in the Public Sector: Global Fireside Chat

Touching upon themes from the previous session, GLC Members will engage in conversation with leaders from government and international organisations, to explore purposeful careers in the public sector.

Dr Edward Brooks (The Oxford Character Project),
Bogolo Kenewendo
(Global Economist, Fmr Minister
of Trade & Industry (Botswana)) and

Hovig Etyemezian
(UNHCR)

Bogolo_transparent.png

14

Tuesday
14 December 2021

 

1:00-3:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

2:00-4:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

SDG Project Pitch Session

GLC Groups from around the world and across SDG areas will pitch their SDG impact projects.

6:00-7:00 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

7:00-8:00 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

Announcement of three finalists

Via e-mail, the three finalists who will present at the Closing Ceremony will be announced.

15

Wednesday
15 December 2021

 

2:00-3:30 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

3:00-4:30 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

GLC Closing Ceremony live from St. Gallen

Welcome remarks from
H.E. Dominic Barton, Canadian Ambassador to China
GLC Project Pitches from Three Finalists
High-Level Panel, featuring

Dr Christian Mumenthaler (Swiss Re),
Prof. Judith Walls (University of St.Gallen) and
Sarah Maria Nordt (Founder and CEO of SANOGE)

Award Ceremony

moderated by
Maggie Childs (Journalist, CEO Hometown Media)

Live from the Lokremise, St. Gallen

Mummentaler_transparent.png
Barton_transparent.png
Walls_Transparent.png
Childs_transparent.png

3:30-4:30 pm

GMT (Oxford time)

4:30-5:30 pm

CET (St. Gallen time)

The Power of Purpose: Global Reflection Session (Optional)

In this informal session at the end of GLC 2021, GLC Members are invited to reflect on their overall experience and the way forward on their leadership journey.